FICM Mexican

Eimbcke, Fernando

Dirección, Guión.

Fernando Eimbcke

He studied cinematography at the CUEC-UNAM film school. His work has participated in more than 100 festivals around the world, including five editions of the Morelia International Film Festival (FICM). At the 1st FICM, his short fiction film La suerte de la fea… a la bonita no le importa (2002) was shown. At the 2nd FICM, his first feature Duck Season (2004) was presented in the Critics’ Week section. It won 11 Ariels, including Best Picture, at the 47th Ariel Awards Ceremony in Mexico. Temporada de patos also received the Best Picture award at the 19th American Film Institute’s AFI Fest, Los Angeles, and nine Mayahuel awards at the 18th Guadalajara International Film Festival (FICG). Lake Tahoe (2008), his second feature film, premiered at the 6th FICM and won the Best Picture award at the 51st Ariel Awards Ceremony and the 23rd Guadalajara International Film Festival (FICG). The feature film Revolución (2010), made in collaboration with several directors, premiered at the 8th FICM. It participated at the 49th Critics’ Week, among other festivals, and won the “Abrazo” award for Best Feature and the French Film Critics Union award at the 19th Biarritz Festival of Latin American Cinema and Cultures. He was part of the Official Selection at the 11th FICM with his third feature film Club Sándwich (2013), which received three nominations – Best Picture, Best Director and Best Actress for María René Prudencio at the 56th Ariel Awards Ceremony. This last film won the Best Picture award at the 31st Torino Film Festival (TFF), Italy; Best Narrative Feature at the 45th Nashville Film Festival, Tennessee; and the Silver Shell for Best Director at the 61st San Sebastián International Film Festival. There was a retrospective of his work at the 51st New York Film Festival (NYFF), organized by The Film Society of Lincoln Center. At the 12º FICM the 10th anniversary of Duck Season was celebrated, and his short fiction film Disculpe las molestias (1994) was shown, as part of the 20th anniversary of the Mexican Short Film Forum.